Quote Originally Posted by HSVDawg View Post
That's actually not correct. Only runners that are allowed to move are those that are forced. Once the runner is ruled out, the runner on 3rd no longer is forced home. The correct call would have awarded the hitter 1st base and the runner on 1st gets 2nd base, but runner on 3rd has to stay at 3rd. Also, batter always gets 1st base when the ball hits a runner (unless the batter is the runner) even if the infielder still makes the play to throw him out, because the ball is ruled dead.
That seems pretty crazy to me because the guy on third probably would have scored with or without the ball hitting the runner. And on a ball that's hit in that situation the runner is going to be at least very conservatively 1/3 of the way home.