-

Originally Posted by
Johnson85
If you think it was clearly a fumble, then you must be thinking that the ball has to be in control when he finished his throw. Watch this video and pay attention from the 3 to 4 second mark and the 33 to 34 second mark. Look at the change in position of will's shoulder's between the time you can see the defender's hand and the time you can't. It would take a hell of a move by Will to keep his hand from going forward when turning his shoulders that much.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bCbF9OXxP8
Will didn't overpower a defensive lineman that got to him before he started him forward movement and managed to will the ball down field 10 yds. He was starting to move forward before he got hit. Just barely, but barely counts under the rule.
Another great piece in that video is as Will is starting his throwing motion, you can clearly see #6 for USC pulling the back of Zavion's jersey from behind. It didn't impact the play, but he was clearly being held by a defender he was about to beat on a route.
"After dealing with Ole Miss for over a year," he said, "I've learned to expect their leadership to do and say things that the leadership at other Division I schools would never consider doing and to justify their actions by reminding themselves that "We're Ole Miss.""
- Tom Mars, Esq. 4.9.18
-

Originally Posted by
Johnson85
If you think it was clearly a fumble, then you must be thinking that the ball has to be in control when he finished his throw. Watch this video and pay attention from the 3 to 4 second mark and the 33 to 34 second mark. Look at the change in position of will's shoulder's between the time you can see the defender's hand and the time you can't. It would take a hell of a move by Will to keep his hand from going forward when turning his shoulders that much.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bCbF9OXxP8
Will didn't overpower a defensive lineman that got to him before he started him forward movement and managed to will the ball down field 10 yds. He was starting to move forward before he got hit. Just barely, but barely counts under the rule.
It's even more clear from th :50 - :52 second mark. His arm clearly moves forward with the football in control.
-

Originally Posted by
Pancho
I as raised to speak my opinion and back it up. I am very sorry we have soft folks but we dam sure do. you are welcome
You can speak your opinion all you want. Just keep politics out of it. It's a simple rule.
-
oooh my.......It was a sarcastic remark dude. I'll add the ****** next time to be clear.
-

Originally Posted by
Johnson85
If you think it was clearly a fumble, then you must be thinking that the ball has to be in control when he finished his throw. Watch this video and pay attention from the 3 to 4 second mark and the 33 to 34 second mark. Look at the change in position of will's shoulder's between the time you can see the defender's hand and the time you can't. It would take a hell of a move by Will to keep his hand from going forward when turning his shoulders that much.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bCbF9OXxP8
Will didn't overpower a defensive lineman that got to him before he started him forward movement and managed to will the ball down field 10 yds. He was starting to move forward before he got hit. Just barely, but barely counts under the rule.
God knows, I'm sick now. Lol. I said it was too close to call when it happened. Watching it four ways here, it's obvious it was a pass. "Ole Noodle Arm" even powers through the defender's touch to move the ball forward. It's being launched from his hand, clearly, from several different viewing angles. Must be nice to have a high paying job with little accountability.
-

Originally Posted by
Johnson85
I think we essentially got penalized for Will's windup throwing motion on that call. Ball was pointed sideways when he was moving forward and the lazy ass replay official apparently assumed that was because it had already been knocked out of his control not realizing that's his throwing motion.
Yep. College replay officials suck so bad compared to nfl
-

Originally Posted by
Commercecomet24
It's even more clear from th :50 - :52 second mark. His arm clearly moves forward with the football in control.
Lol. My friend, that is the ONLY 2 seconds in that video that makes it look as if it's MAYBE an incomplete pass. A couple seconds later you get to watch the side view that shows the fumble. My house was full of State fans that night. Not a single one thought it was a pass after seeing the replay. It was a clear fumble.
I called it a fumble. Everyone I know says it was a fumble. The refs called it a fumble. It was reviewed by the SEC and deemed a fumble. All my SEC buddies offshore say it was a fumble.
It was a fumble.
-
I just spoke to Commercecomet24 on the phone. He confirmed that I'm right. Lol
I love you guys. What a great board this turned out to be.
-

Originally Posted by
DownwardDawg
Lol. My friend, that is the ONLY 2 seconds in that video that makes it look as if it's MAYBE an incomplete pass. A couple seconds later you get to watch the side view that shows the fumble. My house was full of State fans that night. Not a single one thought it was a pass after seeing the replay. It was a clear fumble.
I called it a fumble. Everyone I know says it was a fumble. The refs called it a fumble. It was reviewed by the SEC and deemed a fumble. All my SEC buddies offshore say it was a fumble.
It was a fumble.
Love for you to point out the side view you're talking about. 1:01 shows it as a pass also (or 1:02; I guess it will show more frames for one second on the clock). What is the time stamp that you think shows a fumble?
-

Originally Posted by
DownwardDawg
Lol. My friend, that is the ONLY 2 seconds in that video that makes it look as if it's MAYBE an incomplete pass. A couple seconds later you get to watch the side view that shows the fumble. My house was full of State fans that night. Not a single one thought it was a pass after seeing the replay. It was a clear fumble.
I called it a fumble. Everyone I know says it was a fumble. The refs called it a fumble. It was reviewed by the SEC and deemed a fumble. All my SEC buddies offshore say it was a fumble.
It was a fumble.
No offense. But then they don't understand the rule. Follow Bill Renaud on Twitter. He's really good with referee stuff. He quoted the rule, which applies to only the hand. The arm is irrelevant. Any intentional forward movement of the hand equals incomplete pass. If the palm is supinated when the ball becomes loose, it's an incomplete pass because the forward motion of the hand starts when the hand is pronated and before the hand is supinated (As it does with all quarterbacks' throwing motion).
At its deepest point, Will's hand is well behind his body about rib cage high with his palm facing straight down. This is the :51 mark. The ball becomes loose at the :52-:53 second mark when his hand is almost to his shoulder and his palm is now facing up. It's physically impossible for his hand not to have moved up and forward between :51 and :52/:53.
In other words, look at the right hand at its deepest point and then see if it is still at its deepest point when the ball becomes loose. It's not. Which means the hand moved forward prior to the ball being loose.
Last edited by confucius say; 09-27-2023 at 03:02 PM.
-

Originally Posted by
confucius say
No offense. But then they don't understand the rule. Follow Bill Renaud on Twitter. He's really good with referee stuff. He quoted the rule, which applies to only the hand. The arm is irrelevant. Any intentional forward movement of the hand equals incomplete pass. If the palm is supinated when the ball becomes loose, it's an incomplete pass because the forward motion of the hand starts when the hand is pronated and before the hand is supinated (As it does with all quarterbacks' throwing motion).
At its deepest point, Will's hand is well behind his body about rib cage high with his palm facing straight down. This is the :51 mark. The ball becomes loose at the :52-:53 second mark when his hand is almost to his shoulder and his palm is now facing up. It's physically impossible for his hand not to have moved up and forward between :51 and :52/:53.
In other words, look at the right hand at its deepest point and then see if it is still at its deepest point when the ball becomes loose. It's not. Which means the hand moved forward prior to the ball being loose.
Yeah the :51-:52 mark shows forward movement of the hand and it's clear. Now I also knew there was no way in heck they were overturning that call because it was us on the end of it, we never catch a break, every.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
Disclaimer: Elitedawgs is a privately owned and operated forum that is managed by alumni of Mississippi State University. This website is in no way affiliated with the Mississippi State University, The Southeastern Conference (SEC) or the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly those of the post author and may not reflect the views of other members of this forum or elitedawgs.com. The interactive nature of the elitedawgs.com forums makes it impossible for elitedawgs.com to assume responsibility for any of the content posted at this site. Ideas, thoughts, suggestion, comments, opinions, advice and observations made by participants at elitedawgs.com are not endorsed by elitedawgs.com
Elitedawgs: A Mississippi State Fan Forum, Mississippi State Football, Mississippi State Basketball, Mississippi State Baseball, Mississippi State Athletics. Mississippi State message board.