-

Originally Posted by
Pancho
they seem like liberals trying to count votes
Do only liberals count votes? I thought they were elected county officials and their staff!? What?s the reasoning for your comment? I bet the liberals counting votes in Mississippi won?t bother you.
-

Originally Posted by
Commercecomet24
They blew that one bad. The movement was definitely forward with the ball in control.
Yes they did. You'd have to defy physics for that not to be a pass. The ball went 15+ yards downfield in a wounded duck spiral. That is a forward pass. The defender slapping down ball could have never been shot downfield. Ridiculous call.
The other int call was just as bad. Defender was making the play from out of bounds to int the ball. The intent of that rule is if he came back in ran around then made an int. Just total ineptness and corruption by SEC office. We are the sacrificial lamb this year because we got a rookie coach. Total BS. But when you are MSU what do you expect.
-

Originally Posted by
Pancho
they seem like liberals trying to count votes
Very similar people
-

Originally Posted by
SailingDawg
Do only liberals count votes? I thought they were elected county officials and their staff!? What?s the reasoning for your comment? I bet the liberals counting votes in Mississippi won?t bother you.
SEC office appears to make things up as they go to cater to the leagues national appearance regardless of how ridiculous the call looks to the average fan. What is the reasoning for the comment on whether liberals counting votes in MS? thx in advance
-

Originally Posted by
DownwardDawg
It's amazing how differently we all see things. Which is what makes the world so cool. It was so obvious a fumble to me, I immediately sunk my head when I saw the replay and said "Oh, it's clearly a fumble".
I agree with you. Was watching with some buddies and everybody except one was like "yeah, that's a fumble."
On the intereception, i would love to know the actual rules because he didn't ever establish his left foot. The call was confirmed so I would like to know the rules for myself.
-

Originally Posted by
Pancho
SEC office appears to make things up as they go to cater to the leagues national appearance regardless of how ridiculous the call looks to the average fan. What is the reasoning for the comment on whether liberals counting votes in MS? thx in advance
Because YOU decided to insert a political comment. So what was your purpose of the comment other than TRYING to stire the pot? don't do that . k?
THX in advance...
-
Based on my reading and understanding, there's no rules about a defender leaving the field of play and having to reestablish himself. As long as the defender lands inbounds with one foot he can go wherever he wants to before that which seems dumb but I couldn't find any rules about defenders going out of bounds, just offensive players.
-
-

Originally Posted by
Commercecomet24
Multi billion dollar industry and they can?t hire full time officials and have regular crews without conference affiliations? Smh
Anytime someone gets good, the NFL takes them. Direct from Sankey
-
And again, sounds like republicans can?t understand the count is actually correct and just feel like they deserve to be right.
-
"It is not courage to resist TUSK; It is courage to accept TUSK."
No.
Easy there buddy. Tusk is...well Tusk is Tusk. Tireddawg 12.20.17
-

Originally Posted by
DawgFromOxford
Based on my reading and understanding, there's no rules about a defender leaving the field of play and having to reestablish himself. As long as the defender lands inbounds with one foot he can go wherever he wants to before that which seems dumb but I couldn't find any rules about defenders going out of bounds, just offensive players.
"A player who has been out of bounds re-establishes himself as an inbounds player when both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, touch the ground within the boundary lines, provided that no part of his body is touching a boundary line or anything other than a player, an official, or a pylon on or outside."
He didn't have both feet in to re-establish himself.
-

Originally Posted by
msstate7
It was a fumble for sure
No. Y'all are focusing on hand movement once his hand was supinated. His hand moved forward while his hand was still pronated, well before he was even hit. A qb's hand begins the forward movement before his hand ever rotates from pronation to supination
-
I think they also got called for offensive holding......I truly can/t remember that EVER being called playing against the ?DOGS?,....and I?m old.....End of times must be near!!!!
-

Originally Posted by
confucius say
No. Y'all are focusing on hand movement once his hand was supinated. His hand moved forward while his hand was still pronated, well before he was even hit. A qb's hand begins the forward movement before his hand ever rotates from pronation to supination
I just watched it again. Over and over. It was clearly a fumble.
If y'all don't think that was a fumble, I don't know what to tell you because that will be called a fumble every single time.
The ball was loose before his hand ever started moving forward.
-

Originally Posted by
ScoobaDawg
Because YOU decided to insert a political comment. So what was your purpose of the comment other than TRYING to stire the pot? don't do that . k?
THX in advance...
I as raised to speak my opinion and back it up. I am very sorry we have soft folks but we dam sure do. you are welcome
-

Originally Posted by
DownwardDawg
I just watched it again. Over and over. It was clearly a fumble.
If y'all don't think that was a fumble, I don't know what to tell you because that will be called a fumble every single time.
The ball was loose before his hand ever started moving forward.
Which way is his palm facing when the ball becomes loose? Keep in mind the rule says what the hand does is all that matters per the rule. The arm is irrelevant. It can actually even be going backwards as long as the hand itself moves/rotates/slides forward intentionally.
-

Originally Posted by
Pancho
I as raised to speak my opinion and back it up. I am very sorry we have soft folks but we dam sure do. you are welcome
It?s damn, not dam.
-

Originally Posted by
confucius say
Most people look to see forward movement of the hand once the hand is supinated (hand is facing up or forward). But the rule doesn't say that. It says any forward movement, which would include while the hand is pronated (facing down or back). His hand clearly moved in the downfield direction while it was pronated. The ball was not knocked loose until his hand was supinated.
ETA: watching it again in slow motion, it's not even close. His hand moves at least two feet from the behind his body all the way to his shoulder before he's hit. But the entire time his hand is pronated. He's hit just as his hand turns from being pronated to supinated.
I think we essentially got penalized for Will's windup throwing motion on that call. Ball was pointed sideways when he was moving forward and the lazy ass replay official apparently assumed that was because it had already been knocked out of his control not realizing that's his throwing motion.
-

Originally Posted by
DownwardDawg
I just watched it again. Over and over. It was clearly a fumble.
If y'all don't think that was a fumble, I don't know what to tell you because that will be called a fumble every single time.
The ball was loose before his hand ever started moving forward.
If you think it was clearly a fumble, then you must be thinking that the ball has to be in control when he finished his throw. Watch this video and pay attention from the 3 to 4 second mark and the 33 to 34 second mark. Look at the change in position of will's shoulder's between the time you can see the defender's hand and the time you can't. It would take a hell of a move by Will to keep his hand from going forward when turning his shoulders that much.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bCbF9OXxP8
Will didn't overpower a defensive lineman that got to him before he started him forward movement and managed to will the ball down field 10 yds. He was starting to move forward before he got hit. Just barely, but barely counts under the rule.
Last edited by Johnson85; 09-26-2023 at 10:09 AM.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
Disclaimer: Elitedawgs is a privately owned and operated forum that is managed by alumni of Mississippi State University. This website is in no way affiliated with the Mississippi State University, The Southeastern Conference (SEC) or the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The views and opinions expressed herein are strictly those of the post author and may not reflect the views of other members of this forum or elitedawgs.com. The interactive nature of the elitedawgs.com forums makes it impossible for elitedawgs.com to assume responsibility for any of the content posted at this site. Ideas, thoughts, suggestion, comments, opinions, advice and observations made by participants at elitedawgs.com are not endorsed by elitedawgs.com
Elitedawgs: A Mississippi State Fan Forum, Mississippi State Football, Mississippi State Basketball, Mississippi State Baseball, Mississippi State Athletics. Mississippi State message board.