Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Off Topic Tuesday - Student Loan Forgiveness

Senior Member Lord McBuckethead's Avatar
    vCash

Off Topic Tuesday - Student Loan Forgiveness

This topic isn't to enter into a philosophical political discussion. I just want to have a civil discussion to discuss how this can, or should this be even done, and what benefits does it have either way. I am going to lay out an argument, and I hope these ideas can make a difference.

First, the idea of forgiving 50k worth of federal student loans is stupid. I graduated MSU with 22k worth of student loans, that could have easily been 60k if things didn't bounce my way. Working during school really wasn't an option. My major was too demanding week in and out. There may have been entire months that didn't really allow time to be spent out of the building. Either way, I signed the promisary note and agreed that the money borrowed for me to earn my degree was a fair trade.

Beyond the personable responsibility facet of the discussion, let's discuss the other side of the equation. Cost of an education. It has literally skyrocketed. Some of this is due to the federal guarantee to student loans. Some of it is to the funding cut from the state to lower state tax burden on both citizens and corporations. Some of it is because universities waste money hand over fist. Either way, tuition, books, room and board, etc have all just 6Xs the inflation rate over the past 20 years.

So what do we do? The discussion right now is to forgive 50k. I just do not see why people who chose to either work through college or simply did not go to college in the first place should have to take on this burden. It would free up tons of capital for the economy. But what happens next year, and the year after that. New student loans will just be created. Fix the cost of "state" universities and then each state is responsible for the cost of their "state's" higher education.