Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Being real

vCash

Being real

Im a HS FB coach and Im just telling you, if CFB wants to be for real about spring football, esp with them cutting the number of practices down they will start playing real games in the spring.

Now obviously they wont count against your record and it wouldnt be time to panic or crown a natty champ after a game in april/may but if they want fans and really, the players to buy into it and get better they will schedule games.

I dont care who you are, after about 10 2 and a half hour practices you get ready to hit somebody in a different colored jersey. It wouldnt even have to be big games, schedule FCS teams in the spring. Nobody wants to go to those games in the fall at 11 am anyway. I cant tell you from personal experience our spring game is one of the biggest motivators we have for our kids in the spring. Its not that complicated.

Honestly our staff (Moorhead and co.) learned a lot more about us in the practices before last saturday than they did saturday. With the way they are being played now spring games are glorified walk thrus.

Schedule a real game. Please. Its better for everyone.

vCash
    I concur. It would be a great time to schedule the in state SWAC schools and play them if we are not going to play them as our FCS opponent. I have no idea why we have essentially stopped playing Jackson State and Alcorn but that to me is much more interesting than Southeast Louisiana or UT-Martin. We could also play Valley since their scholarship situation wouldn't affect our bowl eligibility if we play them in the spring.

The glorified scrimmages are boring.

vCash
    Quote Originally Posted by Todd4State View Post