PDA

View Full Version : What did we do to shut down Moncrief and other questions

AlSwearengen
12-06-2013, 09:35 PM
What were we doing in the secondary to keep him under wraps?

Has Freeze's offense been figured out to some extent?

WeWonItAll(Most)
12-06-2013, 09:47 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but it looked to me that we shut him down by getting great pressure with our front four, meaning we could commit more people to cover the pass without giving their QB all day to make a throw

Bass Chaser
12-06-2013, 09:54 PM
I'm sure there were multiple things, but one he was never matched up 1-1 with a safety. This killed us last year.

Instead of a corner blitz we brought a safety or LB.

Freeze's offense has become predictable.

Bubb Rubb
12-06-2013, 09:58 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but it looked to me that we shut him down by getting great pressure with our front four, meaning we could commit more people to cover the pass without giving their QB all day to make a throw

This is exactly what happened. He tried to throw downfield but the pressure got to him. When your d-line can get pressure on the quarterback and can allow you to play 6-7 (and sometimes 8) in coverage, it is difficult. Last year we did the same thing with our secondary, but our defensive line didn't get pressure on Wallace so he had plenty of time to let his receivers find holes in the zone.

The popular meme is that Wallace can't throw downfield because of his shoulder surgery, but I think that's bullshit. And we saw the book on how to beat Ole Miss...when Wallace gets pressured, he makes terrible, terrible decisions. I also think Freeze has been exposed a bit too; his offense became very predictable. He also didn't have much of a running game, which is a big deal in the SEC.

Statecoachingblows**
12-06-2013, 10:19 PM