PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Egg Bowl memory?

Coach34
11-26-2013, 01:52 PM
As I am moving into the part of life called "Middle Age", I, of course, have many Egg Bowl memories....being young and listening to them on the radio every year (my Dad always went hunting that weekend) until finally in 1980- at the age of 11- attending my 1st one. State won it 19-14 capping off a tremendous 9-2 season.

There was the Dick Pace cheating game of 1981
The beatdown of Ole Miss in 1982.
The midfield brawl of 1987 (I think it was 87)
Closing the deal finally with my 1st college GF instead of going to the game in the terrible weather of 1988 (Rebs werent the only ones doing the hammering that day)
The Return to Campus in 1991- and I was a student then. Good times. Big win for us and lots of optimism
The terrible sleet and goalline stand vs us in 1992
1995's upset of us in Sville and me putting a cowbell to the chin of a Rebel that got in my face cussing
1996's beatdown of them in the rain- Micheal Davis just ran over them
1997's upset of us when they picked up 4th and 29
1998's West Division clinching championship
1999's pick and kick comeback win
and so on....

The 1999 comeback is still my all-time favorite game. Just a great night to be there and take in everything.

ShotgunDawg
11-26-2013, 01:54 PM
As I am moving into the part of life called "Middle Age", I, of course, have many Egg Bowl memories....being young and listening to them on the radio every year (my Dad always went hunting that weekend) until finally in 1980- at the age of 11- attending my 1st one. State won it 19-14 capping off a tremendous 9-2 season.

There was the Dick Pace cheating game of 1981
The beatdown of Ole Miss in 1982.
The midfield brawl of 1987 (I think it was 87)
Closing the deal finally with my 1st college GF instead of going to the game in the terrible weather of 1988 (Rebs werent the only ones doing the hammering that day)