PDA

View Full Version : They've come after Stephen D. Lee.

MagicDawg
06-22-2020, 01:17 PM
Welp. Here we go.

I have friends who are supporting this. I do not.

https://www.change.org/p/mississippi-state-university-president-replace-mississippi-state-university-s-confederate-general-statue-23c23df3-9a96-443f-81bf-9a8026dcf523

KentuckyDawg13
06-22-2020, 01:30 PM
Thanks for the link, snowflake. *

DownwardDawg
06-22-2020, 01:33 PM
Nope. I don’t support.

TrapGame
06-22-2020, 01:39 PM
How about Dr. Holmes gets his own statue somewhere prominent on campus? The first university president Lee needs to be recognized. Are we just going to ignore his tenure? Did we not exist as a scholastic entity at the time?

There needs to be more dialog and less demand.

bluelightstar
06-22-2020, 01:41 PM
You can find a change.org petition for anything.

Quaoarsking
06-22-2020, 01:43 PM
People were talking about this 15 years ago when I was a student. It's not like this is some shocking new development.

MagicDawg
06-22-2020, 01:44 PM
FWIW, I support changing the flag. I don't support removing the statue of S.D. Lee. I do support putting up a statue of Holmes somewhere around the Drill Field. Maybe near the Union?

MagicDawg
06-22-2020, 01:46 PM
People were talking about this 15 years ago when I was a student. It's not like this is some shocking new development.

Not a new development, but there is undeniably a new rabidness/energy in the activism, depending on whose ox is being gored.

Rex54
06-22-2020, 02:09 PM
How about Dr. Holmes gets his own statue somewhere prominent on campus? The first university president Lee needs to be recognized. Are we just going to ignore his tenure? Did we not exist as a scholastic entity at the time?

There needs to be more dialog and less demand.

Do you think there's any arguing or debating Bolsheviks?

Rex54
06-22-2020, 02:10 PM
No they weren't.

ShotgunDawg
06-22-2020, 02:11 PM
I gotta admit, I don't care one way or another on this one.