PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Technology?

EdDawg
05-17-2018, 03:55 PM
Does anyone have any insight into this field? I am currently debating going to a career/tech and getting a certificate in Electrical Technology. This is a very big and fearful decision for me as I am currently a teacher and my wife and I have a baby on the way in a few months.

Any advice about the field would be greatly appreciated. Also I have seen where some colleges have a 1 year certificate for ELectrical Technology and a 2 year degree. Does anyone know the benefits and drawbacks for either?

I have contacted multiple people at several different colleges, some more helpful than other, but just wanted to boards thoughts if available.

DownwardDawg
05-17-2018, 09:32 PM
This would help you get a job with one of the major oil companies if that’s something you are interested in.

Matty Dispatch
05-22-2018, 01:17 PM
Electricians are the highest paid worker in the construction industry, however, that still won't get you a ton more money than a teacher unless you're working plenty of overtime. If I were you, I'd keep my job as a teacher and start a side business as a residential electrician, working full time in the summer. Working for yourself without all the pressures of a full time entrepreneur (because you're still teaching full time) will probably generate a very healthy income between the two.

AROB44
05-22-2018, 02:23 PM
Plus....by remaining a teacher, you still have pretty good and cheap health care and a pension plan that pretty much no longer exists in the private sector.

Tbonewannabe
05-22-2018, 09:39 PM