PDA

View Full Version : Billy Brewer

anubus
08-05-2017, 04:24 PM
Was Billy Brewer was sleezy coach or the kindly caring coach they tried to depict him as on that SEC TV segment on Chucky Mullins? Any one have any stories about recruit trips to Platinum Plus or cash payouts..things sure didn't change between 94 and now

Todd4State
08-05-2017, 04:32 PM
Hugh Freeze before there was a Hugh Freeze.

Lumpy Chucklelips
08-05-2017, 04:36 PM
The only difference in the two was that there was no social media for Brewer.

snoopdog
08-05-2017, 04:37 PM
And they really liked him. I haven't had conversations about recruiting, strippers, etc, so I can't speak to that. I actually got to know him somewhat after Ole Miss fired him and I really liked him. I graduated from State so would talk a little football with him and he was a very personable, outgoing guy. I could see him being very loyal and compassionate to his players and them respecting him as a coach. As you can imagine, at that particular time he wasn't very fond of Sherrill.

Todd4State
08-05-2017, 04:39 PM

I agree. I think Freeze was in many ways is an up to date more modern version of Brewer. Same with the Network as well- which is why the fall will be much more spectacular than 94.

Thrill1
08-05-2017, 04:49 PM
Like snoop, I have met Coach Brewer several times in the last few years while working Oxford, and you cannot find a nicer gentleman. The first encounter was while he was caring for his dying wife in a clinic. I thought to myself, "Whats wrong with me, I used to hate this dude." Really puts sports and rivalry in perspective.

Cant answer whether or not he was a sleazy coach or not, and honestly dont care. Glad I was able to sit down and have a conversation with him.

biggun
08-05-2017, 05:21 PM