PDA

View Full Version : Melvin Barkum

notsofarawaydawg
03-01-2017, 01:44 PM
Partial Obituary (http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/sunherald/obituary.aspx?n=melvin-barkum&pid=184281720&fhid=30094)

msbulldog
03-01-2017, 01:47 PM
Wow he and Felker were QBing when I was a freshman.

parabrave
03-01-2017, 02:20 PM
I remember watching him in High School. Man was he great. He also had a brother Jerome who was a great player.

drunkernhelldawg
03-01-2017, 02:27 PM
He was like lightening to the child I was. I think he was one of our most elite recruits the year he came in.

To An Athlete Dying Young
A. E. Housman, 1859 - 1936

The time you won your town the race
We chaired you through the market-place;
Man and boy stood cheering by,
And home we brought you shoulder-high.

To-day, the road all runners come,
Shoulder-high we bring you home,
And set you at your threshold down,
Townsman of a stiller town.

Smart lad, to slip betimes away
From fields where glory does not stay,
And early though the laurel grows
It withers quicker than the rose.

Eyes the shady night has shut
Cannot see the record cut,
And silence sounds no worse than cheers
After earth has stopped the ears:

Now you will not swell the rout
Of lads that wore their honours out,
Runners whom renown outran
And the name died before the man.

So set, before its echoes fade,
The fleet foot on the sill of shade,
And hold to the low lintel up
The still-defended challenge-cup.

And round that early-laurelled head
Will flock to gaze the strengthless dead,
And find unwithered on its curls
The garland briefer than a girl’s.
This poem is in the public domain.

Dolphus Raymond
03-01-2017, 02:52 PM
Didn't Jerome play for JSU then later transfer to State?

coastdoglover
03-01-2017, 02:58 PM