PDA

View Full Version : Positive MSU Football Thread

ShotgunDawg
10-24-2016, 11:29 AM
As the saying goes, "Things are never as good as they seem & things are never as bad they seem." I'm not being a sunshine pumper because this team is awful, but that doesn't mean there aren't some components of it that have potential. For example: Even when we were #1 in 2014, we have no idea that our freshman & sophomore class was made up the guys that are now JR & SRs

Here are some positives:

1. Running game. We are figuring out how to run the football. At this point, we run it far better than we ever did last year. With Kylin Hill coming in, Gibson showing burst, Williams getting more touches, & us having the best running QB we've had in years only being a sophomore, I think the future of our run game has potential.

2. Nick Fitzgerald is tough & a good "football" player. Fitz is a good football player. He's fast, he's tough, he blocks, etc.... he's just not yet a good QB or very smart. However, I don't see him getting worse. I think there is a chance that we see a good bit of improvement in his touch & passing instincts between the end of this season & next.

3. Keith Mixon & Malik Dear. While we MUST get some tall receivers to stretch the field, we do have young, talented slot guys that can take it to the house.

4. Simmons, Leo Lewis, & Spencer. Perhaps I'm missing someone, but not only are these guys talented, they appear to have the mentality to be leaders in the future.

5. Keytaon Thompson - The entire future of the program doesn't rest on Fitz alone. This guy appears uber talented

Please feel free to add some more positives to this thread. Things will likely get worse this season, but that doesn't mean a small foundation isn't growing. Hopefully, by the end of the year we'll look at it and say, "Well, we went 3-9, but we found somethings to build on." That's best case scenario right now.

starkvegasdawg
10-24-2016, 11:33 AM