PDA

View Full Version : Well...went to see Elijah Staley tonight...

smootness
08-23-2013, 08:30 PM
And came away w/ essentially nothing. He threw a 55-yard TD before I got there...then threw 3 passes while I was there...an incompletion and 2 more TDs, of 38 and 49, both on underneath routes.

The first offensive play for Wheeler after I got there...95-yard TD run by the RB. Second play...97-yard TD by the RB. They were up 41-0 w/ 5 minutes left in the 1st half and pulled Staley. The team they played is 5A (Wheeler is 6A), but Wheeler only beat them 10-7 last year.

So Wheeler ran maybe 11-12 offensive plays in the first half. RB had 3 carries for 218 and 3 TDs. Staley was something like 5-6 for 160 and 3 TDs.

I did meet Staley's dad...wasn't sure why he came up to me 'til I realized I wore a State shirt today. Seemed like a really nice guy...told me he'd find me on twitter, then I realized he probably thought I was a coach or somehow officially affiliated w/ State. Don't worry, though, it's all good for us...I'm real gregarious and good-looking.

CadaverDawg
08-23-2013, 08:39 PM
Nice post. Thanks smoot

smootness
08-23-2013, 08:48 PM
He did, from what very little I saw, throw a nice spiral with touch. He didn't run at all; the radio show before the game said a criticism of him last year was that he tucked it and ran too quickly, but he didn't need to do it tonight.

I hope to get to 1-2 more of his games this year and see something more concrete.

woozman
08-23-2013, 08:53 PM
RB had 3 carries for 218 and 3 TDs.

Who is the RB? Those are some crazy ass stats - HS or not...

The Croom Diaries
08-23-2013, 08:54 PM