PDA

View Full Version : Indiana hosed?

Quaoarsking
12-26-2015, 07:39 PM
I'm happy that Kevin Wilson is sad and all, but I think he has a legitimate complaint. This field goal would have tied the game and sent it to a second overtime, but the refs called it "no good." Not reviewable because the kick was higher than the top of the uprights -- apparently it is reviewable if it's lower, but not if it's higher.

http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--HR0bF7AQ--/c_scale,f_auto,fl_progressive,q_80,w_800/xajbxiugr6lggryskrfp.gif

There might be a perspective trick going on here, but it sure looks good to be. The way the entire Indiana team was dumbfounded and insisting it was good is further evidence -- the reaction wouldn't have been so uniform unless they all saw it go in.

Liverpooldawg
12-26-2015, 07:54 PM
That is shot from an angle. As a sports photographer I know what tha means. Angles can be deceiving. NOBODY has a better angle than the official who is standing directly under the upright. That's why if it goes above the upright it's not reviewable.

Apoplectic
12-26-2015, 07:59 PM
Ridiculous to argue. The guy looking up the pole has to have the final and correct call.

thf24
12-26-2015, 08:03 PM
The camera appears to be to the right of center and at a slight angle. That would make the ball appear a little more to the right than it actually was.

maroonmania
12-26-2015, 08:04 PM
Exactly, that view you are showing is from an angle. The view they showed on TV from back behind the goalpost it looks like the ball crosses right over the top of the upright. I believe the entire ball is suppose to pass inside the upright for the ref to call it good.

HailState39110
12-26-2015, 08:08 PM
Exactly, that view you are showing is from an angle. The view they showed on TV from back behind the goalpost it looks like the ball crosses right over the top of the upright. I believe the entire ball is suppose to pass inside the upright for the ref to call it good.