PDA

View Full Version : The Safety position in college football.

CadaverDawg
10-24-2015, 09:19 AM
Just saw Saban talking on SEC Nation. He said they have essentially 4 Corners in the secondary, because their safeties are good cover guys.

I'm far from an expert on this stuff, but I have always wondered why teams don't want their safeties to be just two more corners? I mean, I know you probably want a few bigger safeties as options for when you play a Bama or LSU where they'll be helping in run support a lot...but the way the ground game has gone from power to spread over the last several years, it seems very smart to just recruit and play 4 corners with the 2 most physical corners being your safeties.

I'm sure some will tell me that our safeties played CB in high school...but think about what I'm saying. Conan and Market aren't good cover guys. Meanwhile we have guys like Cleveland and Jiles that are pretty good cover guys. So I'm saying, how much better would our pass coverage be if we had Jiles and Cleveland at Safety, and Redmond and Calhoun at Corner this year so far? Yes, it would make us smaller on the back end, and we might not be as physical in run support...but would it be a huge benefit against the A&M's, OM's, etc?

And are Peters and McLaurin going to be that perfect combo of size and coverage ability? Or are they going to be more your typical safety that are great in run support and over the top, but not great in one on one type coverage situations?

Thoughts? Just wanting to discuss...I think you could approach it several ways I guess.

ShotgunDawg
10-24-2015, 09:45 AM
Good thoughts