PDA

View Full Version : Fall Baseball

bulldogcountry1
10-18-2015, 08:30 PM
I took in some scrimmage this week, so I am now a certified expert.

-Hudson is a beast.

-We led off an inning with a single and proceeded to bunt him over, so, evidently, that's not going away.

-Zinn looks like he's going to be a good player. When we signed him, I recall his resume not being that impressive.

-Looks like we are in good shape at catcher. Morerro looks like a guy who's been around a while, Kruger seems to have a good bat, and Lovelady gives good depth.

-Notice I didn't mention Collins there? Cohen says he's still going to catch. He's still nursing that hand injury, so it's not like he's been working on his defense for the last 9 months. I just don't see a scenario where he would beat out all the guys above. Maybe he still projects as a catcher in the pros, and Cohen wants to help his draft potential.

-Humpreys pitched yesterday. I really don't know what to think of that. I struggle to find a reason how that would be goog for us.

-I haven't seen cumulative stats, but it seems as if our projected starters did well and our offense was able to do well enough at times against the lower half of the pitching staff. I guess that's about best case for scrimmages.

Taog Redloh
10-18-2015, 09:08 PM
I went out there Saturday. I don't take anything from it except the actual plays, because we all know Cohen is gonna Cohen. But yes, like you, the biggest takeaway I saw is that we have definitely found a catcher. Dude almost hosed Robson and the call could have gone either way.

Humphreys was a good pitcher in HS before he had TJ, so don't rule him out. We really need to find a closer.

Political Hack
10-18-2015, 09:45 PM
We won't know the rotation until SEC play starts. It's damn near impossible to predict a starting line up or rotation with Cohen as HC.

CarolinaDawgs
10-18-2015, 10:05 PM