PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun's Quick Thoughts on NW State Game

ShotgunDawg
09-19-2015, 06:21 PM
HOLY S&$* Mullen. You have offensive talent oozing out of your rear on this team, yet neglect to use it in big games.

It is said that good coaches have good schemes, but great coaches adjust their scheme to the strengths of their best players. Take an ego check & get your best players on the field because I can tell you with 110% accuracy that many of our BEST players were not part of the game plan against LSU.

The Good

- Dak looked outstanding today. His TD to INT rate thus far is incredible. He's in for an unbelievable year if Mullen will allow our running game to emerge

- Donald Gray & Gabe Myles. I put these two together because it's the same question: WHERE THE 17 WERE THEY AGAINST LSU? Two of your best players

- Backup/Best running backs. I'm not an expert on pass blocking, but I believe your pass blocking schemes may be slightly too complicated if you have to play your 4th & 5th best running backs in order to pass block correctly. Am I supposed to believe that neither Lee, Williams, or Dear can pass block? Why is it that damn hard?

On pure running ability & vision, I rate our running backs in this wway:

1. Malik Dear - This guy is a DUDE. Josh Robinson with better top end speed.
2. Dontavian Lee - Runs with power, patience, & has good vision.
3. Aeris Williams - Not quite as dynamic as the two above, but a nice all around back
4. Shumpert - Apparently an irreplaceable pass blocker who can hit a wide open hole.
5. Holloway - Situational back that I'm OK having a role & getting 4-6 carries a game regardless of who the starter is.

- WR caught the ball & ran good routes today.