PDA

View Full Version : For those questioning the use of active shooter today

starkvegasdawg
08-27-2015, 08:00 PM
I just read a transcript of the call from MHP to campus police and the first thing MHP told campus pd is that there is possibly an active shooter in Carpenter Hall. MSU PD responded they were aware of a possible suicidal person but we're not aware of an active shooter. MHP then said they were on the phone with a person in Carpenter Hall and were being told that a man was in there threatening to shoot others and then himself. MSU PD acting on that info issued the active shooter alert.

godlluB
08-27-2015, 08:25 PM
I don't think that MSU PD directly runs the Maroon Alert system (although I could be wrong). The MHP call said "potential active shooter", the Maroon Alert didn't include the potential part.

I have some experience with emergency management, and the person handling what and how things are said to the public or media during a crisis needs to be a well trained professional liaison who understands how to deliver these sorts of messages.

Just because one police officer notified another that there was a "potential active shooter" doesn't in any way that is what should be released to the public. There should be no speculation and the language used must be very precise. I understand that this phone call is probably why the statement was released the way it was, but that still doesn't mean that it is how it should have been released.

Don't misunderstand me, I think that for the most part,everything happened this morning exactly the way it should. The fact that at this point, we're discussing the way something was worded in a tweet in the heat of the moment is a wonderful thing. If that's the worst problem we had in the response, we're doing pretty damned good.

That said, now is the time to analyze what happened,, what worked, and what didn't go so well so that those involved can take this information to make things work even better next time.