PDA

View Full Version : Personal Protection Handgun

Bigedawg
08-06-2015, 11:03 PM
Hey guys. I am a relative novice to handguns but am currently in the market for a good handgun in the $500-$600 range. My job periodically takes me into some seedy West Jackson areas and after a recent encounter, I have decided that it is time to arm myself. Leaning toward a 9mm but would love some input from the pro's on the board. Thanks for your input.

Westdawg
08-07-2015, 08:08 AM
Two things to consider-
1 are going to want to carry this on your person at all times or just keep in your vehicle. If it's the former, you want something with a smaller profile to conceal. If it's going to stay in the vehicle, you could go with something bigger profile
2. Go to a legit gun store and put your hand on every gun that fits the answer to number 1. Could be a 380, 9, 38/357, or even a 40. And then find a range a test it out to see if it works for you.

Bigedawg
08-07-2015, 09:24 AM
Thanks for the reply West. It would mostly be left in my vehicle, but I would want to carry it on my person in some of these areas. Some of these neighborhoods have become like war zones.

SpeckleDawg
08-07-2015, 10:09 AM
WestDawg said it well already. I think 9mm would probably be a good choice for sure. Lots of ammo available and not too expensive. Find one that fits your hand and budget, shoot it a lot and get very comfortable with it.

Westdawg
08-07-2015, 10:25 AM
I carry a SAR K2P 9mm. It is a double stack, but I am a big guy and wear loose shirts a lot. I will often open carry with it. But I am going to probably look at a smaller 9 , or even a small 357 that I can keep better concealed and less profile. And don't put yourself I. A price range. That K2 I got was less than 200 when I got it and it has been far better than guns I paid 3 times that for it.