PDA

View Full Version : Redfish behavior

State82
08-05-2015, 10:18 PM
Went to south LA this past weekend for some redfishing. Really good water movement but the results were very disappointing. I was told it was because of the full moon. I had not heard that before but a guy told me his worst trips over the years have been on full moon cycles. Any of you guys experienced this?

SpeckleDawg
08-05-2015, 10:51 PM
Not sure where you were, but we fished Hopedale a few weeks ago and couldn't buy a redfish. We had to work hard for the trout, but caught a decent mess. The west winds down this way had been brutal for several weeks, resulting in some very dirty water. I keep a spreadsheet of tides/moon/weather/etc for each trip and I've never noticed any ugly patterns based on a full moon. I'm no professional, so take that with a grain of salt. Sometimes they just don't want to cooperate...

BeastMan
08-05-2015, 10:57 PM
I've heard mixed things regarding the moon but what I know for fact is that we are in the dog days of summer and nothing wants to cooperate in this hot water. For anything inshore it's a day break bite and that's basically it for shallow water. The sharks are owning this hot salty water right now

MSUDawg4Life
08-05-2015, 11:07 PM
It depends on who you ask.

Some people say fishing is best three days before or three days after a new or full moon..

The tide and moon phase chart I use (LINK (http://www.tides4fishing.com/us/louisiana/cocodrie)) always has the best days for fishing around a new or full moon. Including the day of a new or full moon.

One thing I can almost guarantee about south Louisiana is that there was somebody catching redfish close to where you were on the very day you were there. And they probably posted the pictures on the internet. The fish were eating. Sometimes they are just tough to find.

BrunswickDawg
08-06-2015, 01:53 PM