PDA

View Full Version : The Gridiron Four Grain Bourbon

SapperDawg
06-23-2015, 10:25 PM
I have been studying self-vatting whiskeys for several months now, and have been small scale testing at my home bar for the last several weeks. In short, the goal is to transform through mixing one or more whiskeys that are better together than on their own. My alternate goal is to create a less than $30 bottle of custom blended booze that you would be proud to serve and have as your every day drinker.

After many attempts thus far, and much research, I have at least landed on the premise that I will base this blend on: it will be a four grain bourbon - corn, rye, barley and wheat.

Right now I have three test vats sitting -
1: 94 proof combined - Old Weller Antique (OWA-wheat), Old Charter 8 Season (not to be confused with the 8 yo), and Elijah Craig 12 yo (EC12). All mixed evenly.
2: 88 proof combined - Weller Special Reserve (wheat), Old Charter 8 Season, EC12 all mixed evenly.
3: 89 proof combined - OWA, Jim Beam Black (8 yo), Benchmark #8. All mixed evenly.

Right now, #3 and #2 are tied for the lead, but I am going to let them marry for the next three weeks while I am in Japan and make a final decision on this grouping when I return. Initial impressions are that #3 has the best nose, followed by #1 and #2. I go between #2 and #3 on taste as #3 is more woody but #2 is more rye forward and pleasant - likely due to the lower proof.

I also want to make a high shelf of this mix with: Bernheim Wheat, Eagle Rare 10 and Elijah Craig 12. I also have some Charter 8 yo I may try this with. This one should be about $27 with the Eagle Rare and $22 with the Charter.

For the low shelf version, I am going to try Rebel Yell (wheat), JBB and BM#8, which should equal about $18 a bottle if it turns out to be worth a crap.