PDA

View Full Version : John Cohen- you are simply wrong.

Coach34
03-29-2015, 10:32 AM
Coach Cohen,

Let me start off by saying I'm not some doorknob that runs a hardware store by day and watches baseball on the side. I've played baseball from T-ball thru HS, juco, and semi-pro ball. I pitched and hit for 22 years. I coached the game for a living over a decade and won a few awards doing so. I do not claim to know as much baseball as you do- but I can handle my own.

All this bullshit you are doing with the line-up is wrong. It's simply wrong- and it's costing the offense, team, program, and fans. Putting a small slash hitting, bunting CF'er 4th in the hitting order is not only wrong- it's stupid. Bunting in the 1st inning to just give the opponent the 1st out of the game is not only wrong- it's stupid. Case in point- yesterday's 1st inning of the game:

Brown leads off the game with a single
Vickerson bunts him over to give Auburn an out
Collins gets on base with a fielder's choice
Another bunt by Robson gets Brown thrown out at the plate
Gridley out on a FC- no runs

We get a single to lead off the game- and instead of trying to build on that momentum- we give Auburn an out by taking the bat out of our 2nd best hitter's hands. If we plan to bunt all the time when the leadoff gets on- why not have the guy the bunts all the time batting 2nd? Robson is the perfect 2-hole for a team that wants to bunt alot. Why in the flipping hell is he hitting 4th in an RBI slot? Why not put him in position to bunt Brown over then let Vickerson and Collins swing the bat?

I dont agree with bunting very often period- let alone in the 1st inning. But if you are going to do it- at least set your line-up in a way that puts people in the best position to use their strengths. Did it ever occur to you that we arent scoring because we take chances away from our best hitters by making them bunt? That we might not score because we give away outs to the other team by bunting so much?