PDA

View Full Version : Weekend Cooking & Drinking Thread

BeastMan
02-13-2015, 12:24 PM
It's Valentine's Weekend so I'm expecting less cooking from most this weekend. That said, I think I'm doing steaks saturday night because my wife has to work this weekend and we won't go out.

Fun side note: I just got my truck bed extender so now I can go buy the kayak I've been eying for a few months :cool:

SapperDawg
02-13-2015, 04:04 PM
Nice deal on the yak! What are you getting? I got the Yakima cradle and rollers and put my yak on top of the truck.

Headed to the coast this weekend to drop the tiny dawg at the grandparent's house. Then the wife and I heading to feast on some fresh gulf seafood and spend the night in a hotel room that cost way too much.

BeastMan
02-13-2015, 05:16 PM
Ascend FS128T. The poor man's rich man kayak lol. Upgrading from a pelican so I'll be in hog heaven. I'm also going to grab wheels, paddle, and hand held GPS.

SpeckleDawg
02-14-2015, 08:05 AM
Nice. I've been eyeing the ascend as well. I would be switching from a 14' redfish. The idea of being able to stand up while kayak fishing is why I'll probably pick one up soon. Hurry up and test it hard and give us a review! Which GPS unit are you planning to buy?

BeastMan
02-14-2015, 11:16 AM
Nothing fancy. It's a small hand-held Magellan. All I want it to do is save all the coords for the inshore reefs so I can paddle right to them

ETA- Magellan Exorist 110

SapperDawg
02-14-2015, 11:43 AM
Thats a nice yak. I just finsihed the seat riser mod on my Native Ultimate 12 to make it easier to stand up in. Nothing like fly fishing out of that thing in the summertime. Periodically, I will snag a 4+ lb bass on Guntersville and it will tow me and the yak around for a bit.

BeastMan
02-14-2015, 11:53 AM