PDA

View Full Version : scrapeline advice..

preachermatt83
12-17-2013, 12:29 AM
I have been hunting for several years but there are many things I don't have completely figured out. I was hoping to get some ideas from some of you fellas who have much more knowledge than I do. I recently picked up a new lease that is mostly mature pines but it is very thick. There are 4 permanent stands that are there that we hunt where we have long lanes cut through the pine thickets. We have camera's on 3 of these setups and are getting pics of many does but very few bucks and the bucks we are getting are all young. But I was doing some scouting this weekend and on the backside of the property I found an old logging road that's runs thru some old pines and is about 500 yards long. At the very end of the logging road it drops off into a very thick lot of hardwoods. All along that logging road and in the pines along the logging road are scrapes. Literally in that 500 yard stretch I counted over 25 fresh scrapes and numerous rubs. There is no stand or around this road. The nearest stand is a 2 man lean to about 300 yards back up in the pines on the road before you get to the logging road. I set up a ground blind on the edge of the logging road backed up about 100 yards from the end where it drops off into the hardwoods but not sure if this is a good strategy. What would you guys recommend doing. 1) Keep hunting the permenant stands already there on the front side of the property. 2) hunt the ground blind on the logging road that I set up 3) something completely different.

also what strategy should be used... just sit all day, use calls and rattling horns?

Just hoping for some help to take a trophy. Ive killed some decent deer through the years but it's always just been sitting in a shooting house on food plots. Any advice is appreciated.

CadaverDawg
12-17-2013, 12:45 AM